1 May 2012

July 2012 Concert

poster design by Rachel Goodchild

Bristol Metropolitan Orchestra
William Goodchild, conductor
David Pagett, clarinet

Rossini - Overture, The Italian Girl in Algiers
Mozart - Clarinet Concerto in A
Strauss - Serenade for 13 Wind Instruments
Rachmaninov - Symphony No. 2 in E Minor

A summer concert of exquisite music that is variously sublime, fabulously romantic and delightfully exotic. Mozart's masterwork, the Clarinet Concerto in A - arguably the most beautiful concerto ever written - is performed by Bristol clarinetist David Pagett, its slow movement with a spellbinding beauty and lyricism all its own. Also programmed is Rachmaninov's sweeping Second Symphony, composed in 1906 to critical acclaim and immediate success, its surging melancholy and rich late-Romantic harmony making a lasting contribution to early twentieth century music. The stunning Serenade for 13 Instruments by Richard Strauss, and Rossini's mischievous opera overture Italian Girl in Algiers, complete the programme.

Further details including ticket prices and on-line booking can be found HERE.

'Exquisite and electrifying performances.' John Packwood, Bristol Evening Post, March 2012

No comments:

Post a Comment